Events

October 2012

Congratulations to word~river contributor Kevin P. Keating! We are happy to learn that Kevin P. Keating’s book, The Natural Order of Things, will be published on November 30, 2012 by Aqueous Books. The book, comprised of 15 interconnected stories, is properly thought of as a novel in the tradition of Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg, Ohio or John Steinbeck’s The Pastures of Heaven—but with a gothic sensibility. The novel concerns the adventures and exploits of a small group of students, teachers, employees, and priests at a Jesuit prep school in a dying industrial city. [Read More.] Keating, whose work appeared in word~river in 2009 and 2012, teaches English at a Cleveland-area college. His fiction and essays have also appeared publications including The Mad Hatter’s Review, The Avatar Review, The Spillway Review, The North Coast Review, The Fifth Street Review, The Midwest Literary Review, The Bicycle Review, Juked, Perigee, Exquisite Corpse, Inertia, Identity Theory, and many others.

May 2011

Left to right: Stan Braaten, Thomas U. Knapp, Susan Summers, Beth McDonald.

On Friday May 27, 2011 at the Nevada Camera Club meeting, In Appreciation plaques were presented to Thomas U. Knapp for the front cover photo and to Stan Braaten for the back cover photo of Wordriver Literary Review Vol. III.

To enter next years Cover Photo Contest see Cover Photo Contest Rules on this website.

June 2009

June 24, 2009 (10-11:15 am, Flamingo Hotel, Las Vegas, NV): MLA ADE Summer Seminar (West): Presentation of wordriver literary review as part of the Digital Projects in the Humanities. The event hosts are Christopher Hudgins, Dean College of Liberal Arts and Douglas Unger, Chair Department of English. Susan Summers, English Department Budget Technician, and Beth McDonald, managing and poetry editor, are presenters.

April 2009

April 24, 2009 (6-9 pm): Journal Launch Reading: an evening of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction readings by Adjunct instructors

Go to UNLV
Dept of English website

  home | about us | events | submissions | staff | contact us | advertise | videos | order | contributors bios
  © Copyright English department, University of Nevada, Las Vegas 2008-present